At 2:49 p.m. on April 15, 2013, Juli Windsor was less than a mile away from completing a lifelong quest to become the first runner with dwarfism to finish the world’s most prestigious marathon, a grueling feat that required twice the steps of other runners. The bombings in Boston that day transformed her triumph into horror. Juli and thousands of other runners were turned back before crossing the finish line. She vowed to run again the next year. It would be a chance at redemption as much as making history.

“Undaunted: Chasing History at the Boston Marathon” is a film about the comeback of one unique runner, a 3-foot-9 physician assistant who has been mistaken for a runaway child while training. It’s also about a city rallying against terror. Thousands of runners returned to compete, while a million spectators came back to cheer despite their fear. Many more around the world admired a city that wouldn’t be intimidated by an attack that left hundreds wounded and three dead. “Undaunted” is also a film about every runner’s fantasy: For the first half of the 2014 race, to the astonishment and sustained applause of thousands along the course, Juli led the pack.

The 50-minute film was produced by David Abel, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter with The Boston Globe who captured the horror on film that day as he waited for Juli on the finish line; Lorie Conway, a Peabody Award-winning filmmaker; and Andy Laub, executive producer for As It Happens Films and a former executive producer for National Geographic Society.

The film will premiere on April 14 on the Discovery Life channel under the title "Little Person: Boston Strong." It will be featured and shown around the world on April 18 and April 19 on BBC World News. It will also be screened at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library at 6 p.m. on April 19 by The Boston Globe's GlobeDocs series.

**For information about DVDs or scheduling a screening, contact the producers here.

Air Dates (check your local listing for times):

April 14, 2015            8pm EST                                                                         Discovery LifeLittle Person: Boston Strong (find your local channel)

April 18, 2015            2:10am GMT (10:10pm EST Friday)                               BBC World,  Undaunted: Chasing History at the Boston Marathon

                                  3:10pm GMT (11:10am EST)                                            BBC World,  Undaunted: Chasing History at the Boston Marathon

April 19, 2015            9:10am GMT (5:10am EST)                                            BBC World,  Undaunted: Chasing History at the Boston Marathon

                                  9:10pm GMT (5:10pm EST)                 

If you're in the Boston area come to the free screenings:

April 16, 2015 @ 12pm at Zumix Studio, 260 Sumner St, East Boston. Limited seating. Please e-mail snyders@ebnhc.org if you plan to attend.

April 19, 2015 @ 6pm at John F. Kennedy Library, Globe Docs Series.  Register here